Shorewomen Extend Non-Conference Win Streak to 59 Meets

Shorewomen Extend Non-Conference Win Streak to 59 Meets

200 Freestyle Relay Clinches 109-96 Victory at St. Mary's

ST. MARY'S CITY, MD -- The Washington College women's swim team extended its non-conference dual-meet win streak to 59 with a 109-96 victory over host St. Mary's College of Maryland tonight. The Shorewomen, who got three individual first-place finishes from senior Rachel Glasser (Silver Spring, MD/Springbrook), clinched the meet by taking first place in the final event of the night.

The Shorewomen held a 98-90 lead going into that last event, the 200 freestyle relay, and need either a first-place finish or second- and third-place finishes in the race to extend their streak.  Freshman Carly Ogren (Burke, VA/Lake Braddock), junior Ellen Liebenow (Sellersville, PA/Pennridge), sophomore Sarah Sykes (Haworth, NJ/Northern Valley-Demarest), and freshman Hilary Badger (Baltimore, MD/Mount de Sales) won the race in a Washington College season-best time of 1:45.40 to clinch the victory.

Earlier in the meet, Glasser won the 1000 freestyle in a WC season-best time of 10:37.77, the 500 freestyle in 5:16.36, and the 100 butterfly in 59.84. Junior Jenna Moore (Catonsville, MD/Mount de Sales) won the 50 freestyle in a WC season-best time of 25.21 and the 100 breaststroke in a WC season-best time of 1:08.83, while freshman Elizabeth Miskiel (Gaithersburg, MD/Quince Orchard) took the 200 freestyle in 2:01.98 and the 100 freestyle in 56.39. The 200 medley relay team of Badger, Moore, sophomore Alix Batesko (Mountain Lakes, NJ/Mountain Lakes), and Miskiel led off the meet with a first-place time of 1:54.27, another Washington College season-best.

In addition to leading off the opening relay and anchoring the meet-winning relay, Badger finished second in the 100 backstroke in a WC season-best time of 1:03.13 to become the Shorewomen's 10th-fastest swimmer ever in the event.

The Shorewomen (3-1) return to action one week from today with a 6:00 p.m. Centennial Conference meet at Franklin & Marshall.