Shorewomen Rowing Announces 2016-17 Captains

Shorewomen Rowing Announces 2016-17 Captains

CHESTERTOWN, Md. — Washington College head women's rowing coach Kari Hughes has announced the selection of seniors Danielle Huston Hakey (Waldorf, Md./Calverton School) and Maddie Morrissette (Arlington, Mass./Arlington) and junior Brenna Kacar (Dunkirk, Md./Bishop McNamara) as the team's captains for the 2016-17 season and academic year.

Morrissette is the lone returning captain. She has sat in the Shorewomen's first varsity eight since her freshman season, has won three Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference (MARC) Championships and competed at three NCAA Division III Championships. She won the College's Elizabeth "Bo" Blanchard Memorial Sportsmanship Award as a junior and the NCAA Elite 89 Award as a sophomore. She is a two-time All-MARC selection (2016 varsity, 2014 novice), a two-time CRCA National Scholar-Athlete, and a two Academic All-MARC selection. She was named her team's Most Valuable Rower last spring.

Huston Hakey spent her first two years in the Shorewomen's second varsity eight and moved up to the first varsity eight last season. She has also been a part of three MARC Championship-winning and NCAA Championship-qualifying teams. She is also a two-time CRCA National Scholar-Athleteand a two Academic All-MARC selection. 

Kacar sat in the Shorewomen's second varsity eight and competed at the NCAA Division III Championships last season. She spent her freshman year in the Shorewomen's third varsity eight. 

The Shorewomen will open the fall portion of their regatta schedule Sunday, October 9th, at the Occoquan Challenge.