Washington College Sailing 9th at America Trophy, 2nd at MAISA Spring Open

ANNAPOLIS, MD -- The Washington College sailing team finished ninth of 18 teams at the America Trophy, the MAISA Spring Co-Ed Dinghy Championships, hosted by Navy this weekend. Washington missed qualifying for an ICSA Co-Ed Dinghy National First Round regatta by one spot; the top eight finishing teams received berths to nationals. Washington also placed second of 16 teams at the MAISA Spring Open, hosted by Merchant Marine, this weekend.

At the America Trophy, junior skipper Sam Fitzgerald (Fairfield, CT/Greens Farms Academy) and sophomore crew Blair Towers (Goochland, VA/St. Anne's-Belfield) placed 10th in A Division, while sophomore skipper Ryan Bailey (Toms River, NJ/Toms River South) and senior crew Matt Lawler (Alexandria, VA/Christchurch School) were ninth in B Division. 

The top eight finishing teams at the America Trophy were, in order, third-ranked Georgetown, 10th-ranked Navy, 14th-ranked Old Dominion, 12th-ranked Hobart/William Smith, seventh-ranked St. Mary's, Virginia, 18th-ranked New York Maritime, and Fordham.

Twelve races in each division sailed at the America Trophy on Saturday, while the remaining six races in each division sailed on Sunday.

At the MAISA Spring Open, freshman skipper Eric Siegel (Kilmarnock, VA/Christchurch School) and freshman crew Alex Crawford (Annapolis, MD/Severna Park) placed third in A Division, while sophomore skipper Eleanor Conroy (West Dennis, MA/Tabor Academy) and freshman crew Siobhan Ryan (Aberdeen, NJ/St. John Vianney) were fourth in B Division. Siegel and Crawford placed in the top six in all eight A Division races. Conroy and Ryan finished eighth or better in all eight B Division races.

Twelfth-ranked Hobart/William Smith won the MAISA Spring Open, while Merchant Marine finished third. All of the racing at the MAISA Spring Open took place on Sunday as a lack of wind prevented races on Saturday.

The Washington College sailing team will return to action next weekend at the Admiral's Cup, hosted by Merchant Marine.