Men's Lacrosse Picked to Repeat as Centennial Conference Champions

Men's Lacrosse Picked to Repeat as Centennial Conference Champions

LANCASTER, Pa. -- The Washington College men's lacrosse team is the unanimous favorite to repeat as champions of the Centennial Conference according to a vote conducted by the league's nine head coaches. The Shoremen received all eight of their eligible first-place votes as coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team.

The Shoremen are coming off an 18-2 season in 2014. Washington went undefeated in regular-season Centennial Conference play at 8-0 before defeating Gettysburg, 20-7, in the conference semifinals and Franklin & Marshall, 14-6, in the championship game to win its first title since 2003. The Shoremen went on to advance to the NCAA Division III Semifinals, matching their single-season record for wins in the process.

The Shoremen swept the top three postseason honors bestowed by the conference a year ago as 2014 graduates Hunter Nowicki and Casey McKnight were named Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively, and head coach Jeff Shirk was named Coach of the Year for the second time in three seasons.

Washington returns four players who earned All-Centennial honors a year ago. Senior All-American face-off specialist Michael Trapp (White Plains, N.Y./White Plains) was named to the All-Centennial first team, senior midfielder Grant Hughes (Alexandria, Va./St. Stephen's & St. Agnes) was named to the second team, and senior attackman Stephen Luck (Catonsville, Md./Boys' Latin) and senior defenseman Dan Pulzello (Glen Rock, N.J./Don Bosco Prep) were tabbed as honorable mentions. 

The Shoremen will open their 2015 season ranked fifth in Division III when they travel to Goucher on February 21st. Centennial Conference play begins exactly a month later at home against McDaniel.