Washington College Presents Annual Athletic Awards

Washington College Presents Annual Athletic Awards


CHESTERTOWN, Md. — The Washington College Athletics Department held its annual athletic awards ceremony tonight, honoring the top student-athletes for the 2018-19 academic year.  Team Most Valuable Players and Most Improved Players were named, and several special departmental awards were presented as well. A list of the awards follows. 

Senior Athletic Award: Given annually to the male student and the female student who, in the opinion of the department, achieved the most in athletics at Washington College.
Casey Grieves, Sr., Men's Lacrosse (Easton, Md./Sts. Peter & Paul)
Madison Schutz, Sr., Women's Lacrosse (Bel Air, Md./John Carroll)

Goose Nation Award (formerly Sho'men Club Award): Given annually to the senior male student and the senior female student who, in the opinion of the department, by cooperation, loyalty, sportsmanship, spirit, and industry, contributed the most to the development of athletics at Washington College.
Sabrina Jenkins, Sr., Field Hockey (Annapolis, Md./Annapolis)
Josh Samuels, Sr., Men's Soccer & Men's Swimming (Allentown, N.J./Allentown)

The Eldridge Eliason Award: The senior male student and female student who, with scholastic standing in the upper half of the class, has accomplished the most in the field of athletics.
Arianna Sabatino, Sr., Women's Soccer (Dix Hills, N.Y./Half Hollows Hills West)
Kevin Wilson, Sr., Men's Lacrosse (Ellicott City, Md./Centennial)

The Thomas Reeder Spedden Award: Presented to one or more senior student-athletes for academic standing and outstanding achievement in athletics.
Cecily Docktor, Sr., Women's Lacrosse (Wellesley, Mass./Wellesley)
Julia Portmann, Sr., Women's Swimming (Palatine, Ill./William Fremd)

The Elizabeth "Bo" Blanchard Memorial Sportsmanship Award: The junior female and male athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of enthusiasm, dedication, and sportsmanship characteristic of "Bo."
Jessie Willey, Jr., Field Hockey (Salisbury, Md./Parkside)
Brook Yimer, Jr., Men's Rowing (Arlington, Va./Wakefield)

The Doris T. Bell '50 Award: The senior female with the highest cumulative average who has won a varsity letter during the year.
Julia Portmann, Sr., Women's Swimming (Palatine, Ill./William Fremd)

The Alfred Reddish Award: The senior male with the highest cumulative average who has won a varsity letter during the year.
Pat O'Neal, Sr., Men's Soccer (Birmingham, Ala./Altamont School) 

The Competitors Challenge Award: Recognizes an Athletic Team at Washington College who, in the opinion of the athletic department, has provided passion and purpose to a philanthropic organization through their commitment of support, time and actions.
Men's Basketball Team

Iron Goose Award: Given to the senior male and senior female student-athlete who, in the opinion of the Sports Performance staff, by cooperation, dedication, enthusiasm and leadership achieved the most in their four years of performance development at Washington College.
Luke D'Ostilio, Sr., Baseball (Hamden, Conn./Hamden)
Clare Ingersoll, Sr., Field Hockey (Chestertown, Md./Gunston School)

MVP: Olivia Auer, Sr., Midfielder (Forest Hill, Md./Bel Air)
MIP: Megan Ritchey, So., Midfielder (Lancaster, Pa./Penn Manor)

MVPs: Olivia Sabatino, Sr., Midfielder/Forward (Dix Hills, N.Y./Half Hollows Hills West); Arianna Sabatino, Sr., Midfielder (Dix Hills, N.Y./Half Hollows Hills West)
MIP: Brenda Clark, So., Defender (Rockville Centre, N.Y./Oceanside)

MVP: Sean Garin, Jr., Defender (Fairfax, Va./W.T. Woodson)
MIPs: Aidan Kelly, So., Defender (Bear, Del./Salesianum School); Frank Koons, So., Defender (Blue Bell, Pa./Germantown Academy)

MVP: Cassie Kowalski, Jr., Right-Side Hitter (Wilmington, Del./Delaware Military Academy)
MIP: Isabella Sansanelli, So., Middle Hitter (East Northport, N.Y./Elwood-John H. Glenn)

MVP: Bridget McLaughlin, Jr., Guard (Newark, Del./Delaware Military Academy)
MIP: Emily Thiemann, Sr., Forward (Wilmington, Del./Padua Academy) 

MVP: Dallas Marshall, Jr., Forward (Germantown, Md./Clarksburg)
MIP: Daniel Brown, So., Forward (Silver Spring, Md./Paint Branch)

MVP: Julia Portmann, Sr. (Palatine, Ill./William Fremd)
MIP: Anna Hall, Fr. (Catonsville, Md./Mount de Sales Academy)

MVP: Andrew Feeley, Jr. (Baltimore, Md./Towson)
MIP: Nate Braddock, Fr. (Silver Spring, Md./Springbrook)

MVPs: Aaron Barclay, Sr., Infielder (Sparks, Md./Archbishop Spalding); Ryan Zwier, Junior, Catcher (Newark, Del./Christ School [N.C])
MIP: Mike Smith, So., Pitcher (Springfield, Pa./Springfield)

MVP: Cecily Docktor, Sr., Attacker (Wellesley, Mass./Wellesley)
MIP: Catherine Keirn, So., Defender/Midfielder (White Hall, Md./Notre Dame Prep)

MVP: Chris Del Rosario, So., Goalie (Springfield, Va./Bullis School [Md.])
MIP: Burke McFillin, So., Defenseman (Exton, Pa./Downingtown East)

MVP: Olivia Robb, Jr. (Kennett Square, Pa./Unionville)
MIP: Annie Krysztofiak, So. (Paoli, Pa./Delaware Valley Friends School)

MVPs: Alex Kincaid, Sr. (Bowie, Md./DeMatha); Lee Potter, Sr. (Silver Spring, Md./Bethesda-Chevy Chase)
MIP: David Pitts, Sr. (Burtonsville, Md./Georgetown Prep)

MVP: Andrew Vernon, Jr., Skipper/Crew (Severna Park, Md./Severna Park)
MIP: Henry Proud, So., Skipper/Crew (Manheim, Pa./Manheim Central)

MVP: Megan Robbins, Fr., Shortstop (Denton, Md./North Caroline)
MIP: Alli Saul, Jr., Third Base (Bridgeton, N.J./Cumberland Regional)

MVP: Ella Samer, So. (Boise, Idaho/Boise)
MIP: Mariah Thomas, Sr. (Forest Hill, Md./Bel Air)

MVP: August Meriot, Jr. (Bethesda, Md./Walter Johnson)
MIP: Andrew Smith, So. (Bellmore, N.Y./John F. Kennedy)

MVP: Will Sears, Fr. (St. Leonard, Md./Calvert)
MIPs: Sammy DiLoreto, Fr. (Harleysville, Pa./Dock Mennonite Academy); Lanning Tyrrel (Lavina, Mont./Lavina)